National Research Council joins Eurostars, giving Canada's research-performing companies access to targeted funding

- Malmö, Sweden 

National Research Council Canada has officially joined Eurostars, opening another door for Canadian innovators – particularly small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) – to collaborate with European counterparts through EUREKA.

From left to right: Eric Holdrinet, NRC-IRAP Industrial Technology Advisor, Mark Burbidge, NRC Senior Advisor, International Relations, Melanie Cullins, NRC Director, International Relations, Per Tervahauta, Chairman of the EUREKA High Level Group, Ministry of Enterprise and Innovation (Sweden), Pedro de Sampaio Nunes, Head, EUREKA Secretariat and Michel Vanavermaete, Programmes Implementation Manager, EUREKA Secretariat.


Jointly offered by EUREKA and the European Commission, Eurostars supports research and development performing SMEs with international collaborations that will lead to increased industrial competitiveness, job creation and economic growth for the countries involved.

With its bottom-up approach, Eurostars was developed specifically to support the development of rapidly marketable innovative products, processes and services with the potential to help improve the lives of people around the world.

"By joining Eurostars, Canadian businesses will have greater access to the full potential of EUREKA," explains Melanie Cullins, Director of International Relations at NRC and Canada's National Project Coordinator for EUREKA. "Membership facilitates collaborations with companies in countries that favor Eurostars as a funding mechanism."

"Participation in Eurostars projects can be the passport to new opportunities, new partnerships and new global markets," adds Drew McNaughton, an Executive Director with NRC's Industrial Research Assistance Program (IRAP). "IRAP, with its extensive national network, can provide critical advice and funding to eligible Canadian SMEs."

Eurostars is co-funded by 34 EUREKA member countries and the European Commission.

EUREKA at a glance

  • EUREKA is a leading facilitator of innovation, providing a platform for international, market-oriented cooperation.
  • Since 1985, EUREKA has facilitated over 6,000 projects valued at 37 billion euros involving 17,000 firms and 5,000 other innovation actors.
  • Currently composed of 41 member economies, including the European Union and three associated countries: Canada, South Africa and South Korea.
  • Canada joined in June 2012, and has already labeled over 50 projects with 14 EUREKA members, valued at over 50 million euros.

EUREKA Canada is headquartered at the National Research Council.

Related links

Contact us

Media Relations, National Research Council of Canada
1-855-282-1637 (toll-free in Canada only)
1-613-991-1431 (elsewhere in North America)
001-613-991-1431 (international)
Follow us on X: @NRC_CNRC