Time zones and daylight saving time

Standard time zones

Standard time zones, winter

Larger version Standard time zones image

Daylight saving time zones

Standard time zones, winter

Larger versionDaylight saving time zones image

Download side by side version of the maps (PDF, 1.5 KB)

How can I get a copy of the Canadian time zone map in postscript (.eps and .pdf) format?

Copies of Canada's time zone maps, are available in postscript format for insertion into your document using a word processor or document editor that supports Adobe postscript. Click on the selection, and respond with Save File (or equivalent) when prompted by browser.

.eps format

.pdf format


In Canada, Time Zones and Daylight Saving Time usually have been regulated by provincial and territorial governments.

Starting in 2007, clocks following the new North American standard for Daylight Saving Time are to be turned forward by one hour on the second Sunday in March and turned back on the first Sunday of November.

These boundaries and changeover dates have serial number 07, broadcast in computer readable form on short wave station CHU along with Canada's official time reference UTC (NRC): Coordinated Universal Time, the modern implementation of Greenwich Time.

A major change in official time practice will be given a new serial number and documented here.

When does daylight saving time start and end?

Daylight saving time in Canada is determined by provincial legislation. Exceptions may exist in certain municipalities. The time zone maps and the dates listed below have been in effect since 2020. (This has been denoted as serial number #07 as is transmitted in CHU code.)

Province/Territory Start 2nd Sunday in March End 1st Sunday in November
NewfoundlandFootnote 1 02:00 NST 02:00 NDT
Nova Scotia 02:00 AST 02:00 ADT
Prince Edward Island 02:00 AST 02:00 ADT
New Brunswick 02:00 AST 02:00 ADT
QuébecFootnote 2 02:00 EST 02:00 EDT
OntarioFootnote 3 02:00 EST 02:00 EDT
Manitoba 02:00 CST 02:00 CDT
SaskatchewanFootnote 4 02:00 MST 02:00 MDT
Alberta 02:00 MST 02:00 MDT
British Columbia 02:00 PST 02:00 PDT
Northwest Territories 02:00 MST 02:00 MDT
NunavutFootnote 5    
YukonFootnote 6